Back to Journals

Infection and Drug Resistance

ISSN: 1178-6973

Professor Suresh Antony

Professor Antony

Professor Suresh Antony is a clinical professor with the Department of Internal Medicine at Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center. Since completing his PhD at Pacific Western University, Professor Antony has been the recipient of multiple teaching honours, including the 1994 Resident Teacher of the Year Award, presented by the ECU School of Medicine, the Teaching Award of Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center in 1998 and 1999, and the ACP-ASIM Community Based Internal Medicine Teaching Award in 2001, 2002 and 2003.

Professor Antony is a fellow of the American College of Physicians and the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons, as well as the Infectious Diseases Society of America and the Royal Society of Medicine. He is heavily involved in HIV and AIDS education, and acts as a scientific reviewer for several journals, including his activities as the associate editor of El Paso Physician since 2001.

Professor Antony also acts as an infectious disease consultant at the Center for Infectious Diseases and Travel Medicine, in El Paso, Texas.

Prof. Dr. Héctor M Mora-Montes

Prof. Dr. Mora-Montes

During his post as a clinical analyst, Prof. Mora-Montes developed a system for the differentiation of Candida species, based on in-house zymograms and colony morphology in cornmeal agar. As a postgraduate student, he generated a new and innovative method for in situ determination of glycosyl hydrolase activities and received the “Summa Cum Laude” distinction from Universidad de Guanajuato. Among the most important achievements during his time as a postdoctoral fellow at the University of Aberdeen (Scotland), he set up most of the immunological techniques within the Aberdeen Fungal Group and developed and standardized protocols for the isolation and purification of chitin, phospholipomannan, N-linked and O-linked mannans from fungal cells. Those protocols have not only benefited the Aberdeen Fungal Group, but other international groups dedicated to the study of the fungal cell wall, and are considered among the most popular and standardized methods for isolation and analysis of fungal cell wall components. In 2010, he established the Laboratory of Fungal Glycobiology at Universidad de Guanajuato (Mexico), with the main goal to understand the mechanisms behind the fungal cell wall synthesis and the interaction of medically relevant fungal pathogens with the host. This laboratory is characterized by its facilities to perform chemical, immunological, genetic, molecular and cellular analyses of human fungal pathogens. Therefore, it is among a handful of research facilities within Mexico and Latin America offering a multidisciplinary and integral approach to understand these pathogens. Currently, the group is developing molecular tools for genetic manipulation of medically relevant fungi, in particular Sporothrix and Candida species. Our group has a solid international reputation in the genetic study of these organisms, in the immune sensing of fungal cells, and the development of alternative models to analyze fungal virulence. Since 2016, he was awarded the level III distinction by SNI, the highest distinction awarded by the Mexican Government for Mexican Researchers under 65 years old. He currently holds editorial appointments in several peer-reviewed international journals and is the Deputy President of the Latin-American Society of Glycobiology.

Editorial Board

Itzhak Brook, Professor, Georgetown University School of Medicine, Washington, D.C., USA

Keertan Dheda, Professor of Medicine; Director: Centre for Lung Infection and Immunity; Head: Division of Pulmonology, Department of Medicine, University of Cape Town & Groote Schuur Hospital, South Africa.

Professor Jonathan Dinman, Virus Adaptation and Treatment, University of Maryland, United States.

Varsha Gupta, Professor, Department of Microbiology, Governmental Medical College and Hospital, Chandigarh, India

Irena Kostova, Department of Chemistry, Faculty of Pharmacy, Medical University, Sofia, Bulgaria

Junya Kuroda, Division of Hematology and Oncology, Department of Medicine, Kyoto Prefectural University of Medicine, Kyoto, Japan

Prof Mercy Jemima Newman, Associate Professor of Medical Microbiology, School of Biomedical and Allied Health Sciences, College of Health Sciences, University of Ghana, Accra, Ghana, West Africa.

Todd Primm, Department of Biological Sciences, Sam Houston State University, TX, USA

Alfonso J. Rodríguez-Morales, Professor and Senior Researcher, Faculty of Medicine, Fundación Universitaria Autónoma de las Américas, Pereira, Risaralda, Colombia - Professor, Universidad Cientifica del Sur, Lima, Peru - Adjunct Professor, Gilbert and Rose-Marie Chagoury School of Medicine, Lebanese American University, Beirut, Lebanon.

George R. Thompson, MD, FIDSA, Professor of Medicine, Department of Medicine, Division of Infectious Diseases, Department of Medical Microbiology and Immunology, University of California, Davis Medical Center, USA.

Min Wu, Professor, Director of Human Tissue Core, Department of Biomedical Sciences, School of Medicine and Health Sciences, University of North Dakota, ND, USA. Research interests include asthma, lung injury, bacterial immunity, nanoparticles, bacterial pathogenesis and host-pathogen interaction, USA.