Back to Journals

HIV/AIDS - Research and Palliative Care

Professor Sawaya

Department of Neurology, Temple university, United States

Professor Sawaya

Editor-in-Chief: Dr Bassel E Sawaya

Dr Bassel E Sawaya is a professor of neurology at Temple University, Philadelphia. Dr Sawaya received his PhD in biochemistry and molecular genetics in 1994 from Rene Descartes University (Paris V-France). During his PhD, he studied regulation of the transferrin gene in neural cells under the supervision of Dr Evelyne Schaeffer. He demonstrated that the Tf-promoter in neural cells is different from the one expressed in liver or testis. As a postdoctoral fellow, Dr Sawaya started his research in the HIV1 field. Dr Sawaya also received a biomedical engineering degree from Pierre et Marie Curie (Paris VI) University, France. He then moved to the USA where he joined the lab of Dr Kamel Khalili at Thomas Jefferson University and Allegheny University (formerly Hahnemann). Dr Sawaya is currently a professor in the Departments of Neurology and Pharmacology at Temple University, as well as a professor in the Fels Institute for Cancer Research and Molecular Biology.

Dr Sawaya's research focuses on understanding the replication and pathogenesis of the human immunodeficiency virus type 1 (HIV-1) which is known to cause AIDS in humans. The lack of productive infection of neurons by HIV-1 suggests that viral and cellular proteins with neurotoxic activities that are released from HIV-1 infected target cells, or reservoirs cells for latent active virus, cause this neuronal deregulation leading to alteration of learning ability and working memory deficit. To that end, the Molecular Studies of Neurodegenerative Diseases (MSND) lab is involved in identifying the mechanisms utilizing molecular, virological, and cellular approaches to determine the cellular factors used by the viral proteins as well as their interplay with microRNAs to cause neuronal dysfunction.

Editorial Board

Mr Zelalem Addis, Department of Medical Microbiology, University of Gondar, Gondar, Ethiopia.

James Ekere Essien, Professor, Department of Pharmaceutical Health Outcomes & Policy; Director, Institute of Community Health, University of Houston, Texas Medical Center, Houston, TX, USA

Maria Fernandez, Professor, Public Health and Preventive Medicine, College of Osteopathic Medicine, Florida, USA

Ramesh Ganju, Scott Endowed Professor of Pathology, Vice-Chair Experimental Pathology, Ohio State University, Columbus, OH, USA

Erica L. Gollub, Professor at the Health Science Program, College of Health Professions, Pace University, New York, USA.

Jag H. Khalsa, Special Volunteer at NIDA/NIH, USA.

Steven E. Lipshultz, MD, FAAP, FAHA is the A. Conger Goodyear Professor and Chair of the Department of Pediatrics at the Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences at the University at Buffalo, The State University of New York; the Chief of Service of Pediatrics at Kaleida Health; the Medical Director of Pediatric Services Business Development at John R. Oishei Children’s Hospital; President of UBMD Pediatrics (University at Buffalo Pediatric Associates, Inc.); and a Consultant in Pediatrics and Cardio-Oncology for the Roswell Park Comprehensive Cancer Center, New York, United States.

Stuart A. Lipton, MD, PhD, Professor and Director, Neuroscience Translational Center, Step Family Foundation Endowed Chair, Department of Molecular Medicine, The Scripps Research Institute, La Jolla, California; Professor, University of California San Diego School of Medicine and Yale School of Medicine; Clinical Neurology Attending Physician, UC San Diego Health System, USA.

Charles F. Mactutus, Professor, Department of Psychology, University of South Carolina, Columbia, SC, USA

Yvonne (Bonnie) Maldonado, Professor and Chief, Division of Infectious Disease, Department of Pediatrics, Stanford University School of Medicine, Stanford, CA, USA

Rick B. Meeker, Department of Neurology, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, NC, USA; Adjunct Professor, North Carolina State University College of Veterinary Medicine, Raleigh, NC, USA

Italo Mocchetti, Professor and Vice-chair, Department of Neuroscience, Georgetown University Medical Center, Washington, DC, USA

Thomas Quinn, Professor, Department of Medicine, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, Baltimore, MD, USA

John J. Rossi, Lidow Family Research Chair, Professor, Department of Molecular Biology, Dean, Graduate School of Biological Sciences, Beckman Research Insitute of the City of Hope, Duarte, CA, USA

Raymond F. Schinazi, Frances Winship Walters Professor of Pediatrics, Emory University School of Medicine, Director, Laboratory of Biochemical Pharmacology, Director, HIV Cure Scientific Working Group, Emory University Center for AIDS Research, Atlanta, GA, USA

Jianguo (Tony) Sun, Professor, Statistics, University of Missouri Columbia, MO, USA.

Brian Wigdahl, Professor and Chair, Department of Microbiology and Immunology, Director, Institute for Molecular Medicine and Infectious Disease, Drexel University College of Medicine, Philadelphia, PA, USA

John A. Zaia, M.D., Director, Center for Gene Therapy, Aaron D. and Edith Miller Chair for Gene Therapy; Hematologic Malignancies and Stem Cell Transplantation Institute Department of Hematology, City of Hope, Duarte, CA, USA

Carmen D. Zorrilla, Professor, School of Medicine, OB-GYN Department, University of Puerto Rico, San Juan, Puerto Rico