Back to Browse Journals

Degenerative Neurological and Neuromuscular Disease

Prof. Dr. Müller

Department of Neurology, St Josef Hospital, Germany

Prof. Dr. Müller

Editor-in-Chief: Professor Thomas Müller

Professor Thomas Müller is the head of the Department of Neurology and consultant in neurology/psychiatry at St. Joseph Hospital Berlin-Weissensee, Germany.

His research interests include:

Use of various functional, morphologic brain imaging techniques (MRI, fMRI, SPECT, PET) in the diagnosis and evaluation of progression of neurodegenerative disorders, i.e. Parkinson’s disease in combination with various simple instrumental tools.

Performance of neuropharmacological trials with putative neuroprotective or neuroregnerative compounds in neurodegenerative disease at least partially in close cooperation with the pharmaceutical industry.

Investigations of neuroophthalmologic changes in neurodegnerative disorders and the impact of dopaminergic compounds on visual function.

Studies on the pathogenesis of Parkinson’s disease, dystonia, Huntington’s disease, vascular brain disease and dementia with search for genetic, metabolic and environmental biomarkers and risk factors for neurodegenerative diseases.

Performance of epidemiologic, pharmacokinetic and pharmacologic trials on the efficacy of antiparkinsonian agents.

Research on neuropsychological changes in neurodegenerative diseases.

Development and use of instrumental procedures and various reaction time paradigms for the evaluation of drug response in Parkinson’s disease.

Research on levodopa induced vascular risk factors in neurodegenerative diseases with specific evaluation of genetic polymorphisms of drug metabolizing enzymes.

Evaluation of the clinical efficacy of intrathecally administered steroid preparation in the treatment of progressive multiple sclerosis with predominant spinal symptoms.

Studies on fine motor skills and control in Parkinson‘s disease and related movement disorders.   

Editorial Board

Wilson Alves-Do-Prado,Professor, Department of Pharmacology and Therapeutic, State University of Maringá, Paraná, Brazil

Jean-Philippe Azulay, Professor of Neurology, Marseille Medecine School; Head of Movement Disorders Unit, Department of Clinical Neurosciences, Hôpital de la Timone, Marseille, France

Jacques S. Beckmann, Head of Clinical Bioinformatics, Swiss Institute of Bioinformatics, Lausanne, Switzerland

Michael G. Bemben, Professor, Department of Health and Exercise Science, University of Oklahoma, Norman Campus; Chair, Department of Health and Exercise Science, University of Oklahoma, Norman Campus, Norman, OK, USA

Elizabeth Chroni, Professor in Neurology, University of Patras, Rio, Greece

Urszula Fiszer, Professor, Department of Neurology and Epileptology Medical Center for Postgraduate Education, Warsaw, Poland

Nils Erik Gilhus, Professor of Neurology, University of Bergen; Consultant, Department of Neurology, Haukeland University Hospital, Bergen; Chairman, Department of Clinical Medicine, University of Bergen, Bergen, Norway

Susan T. Iannaccone, Jimmy Elizabeth Westcott Distinguished Chair of Pediatric Neurology; Professor of Pediatrics, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center, Dallas; Professor of Neurology, University of Texas, Southwestern Medical Center, Dallas, TX, USA

Myung Sik Lee, Professor, Department of Neurology, Yongdong Severance Hospital, Yonsei University College of Medicine, Seoul, Korea

Glenn Lopate, Founding Editor, Professor of Neurology, Division of Neuromuscular Disease, Washington University School of Medicine, Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

Lu LU, Professor, Jiangsu Key Laboratory of Neuroregeneration, Nantong University, Nantong, People's Republic of China; Professor, Department of Genetics, Genomics and Informatics, College of Medicine, University of Tennessee, TN, USA

Francesco Orzi, Full Professor and Chair of Neurology, University of Rome “La Sapienza”, Faculty of Medicine and Psychology, Sant'Andrea Hospital, Rome, Italy

Professor Markus Andreas Rüegg, Biozentrum, University of Basel, Basel, Switzerland

Russell Howard Swerdlow, Professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology; Professor of Neurology, Molecular and Integrative Physiology Departments of Neurology and Molecular and Integrative Physiology, University of Kansas School of Medicine, Kansas City, KS, USA

Haluk Topaloglu, Professor of Paediatrics and Neurology, Department of Paediatrics, Hacettepe University School of Medicine, Ankara, Turkey