Back to Editor profile » Dr Mohamed Shaker

Dr Mohamed Shaker

Dr Mohamed Shaker

Department of Gastroenterology, Faculty of Medicine, Ain Shams University, Cairo, Egypt

Mohamed Kamal Shaker is an Emeritus Professor of Tropical Medicine and Hepatology at Ain Shams University. He cofounded the Hepatoma Group in March 2002, which is the first MDT in Egypt and the Middle East, cofounded the Egyptian Society for Liver cancer in 2009, participated in putting together the Egyptian guidelines for HCC in 2011 and its updates in 2021. Prof. Dr. Shaker was an invited speaker in AASLD 2011 and 2012 where he gave lectures on HCC in Africa, an invited speaker in Essen university giving lectures on epidemiology of HCC in Egypt. He was also an invited speaker at the ILCA meeting 2015 presenting a lecture on epidemiology of HCC in Egypt, and an invited speaker at the APASL meeting 2015 where he gave a lecture about viral hepatitis in Egypt. 

Prof. Dr. Shaker has participated in the PATH program Cairo and Dubai as faculty, supervised several MSc and MD thesis dealing with HCC, and published several papers on HCC. He is a member of the supreme committee for HCC in the Health Insurance Organization, a former director of the Hepatoma Group Ain Shams University, former President of the Egyptian Society for Liver cancer. Prof. Dr. Shaker was a member of the national committee for the control of viral hepatitis until 2018. A continued member of the supreme committee of viral hepatitis and the supreme committee for liver transplantation in a health insurance organization. As well as a member of the ethical committee for liver transplantation in Ain Shams specialized hospital. He was a member of the committee for promotion of Assistant Professor and Professor for 6 consecutive years. This is in addition to being a member of several societies of Hepatology in Egypt, and founder of viral hepatitis committee in HIO, in 2009, where he worked as the director of the committee until 2020, and was the President of Tropical Medicine Department Faculty of Medicine Ain Shams University 2014-2017.

Updated 28 November 2023