Back to Journals

Virus Adaptation and Treatment

Professor Dinman

Department of Cell Biology and Molecular Gene, University of Maryland, United States

Professor Dinman

Editor-in-Chief: Professor Jonathan D. Dinman

Jonathan D. Dinman is a Professor in the Department of Cell Biology and Molecular Genetics at the University of Maryland, College Park. After his graduate studies at The Johns Hopkins University School of Hygiene and Public Health, where he received the 1984 Sigma Xi Award, he undertook his postdoctoral fellowship the National Institutes of Health, Bethesda under Dr. Reed Wickner. Upon completion of his postgraduate training, he was employed at the University of Medicine and Dentistry in Piscataway, NJ, in the Department of Molecular Genetics and Microbiology, where he maintains an adjunct appointment. Professor Dinman moved to the University of Maryland since 2002.  He is currently Interim Departmental Chair and Director of the Graduate Program in Molecular and Cellular Biosciences.
Professor Dinman is the recipient of multiple research awards, including 2004 University of Maryland’s College of Life Sciences Faculty Excellence Award for Research, the Office of Technology Commercialization, Research and Graduate Studies’ Outstanding Invention of 2003 Life Sciences award, and the 2005 Thomas Alva Edison Patent Award. He was also a finalist for the University of Maryland’s 2007 Life Sciences Invention of the Year award, and has been awarded 4 patents, with 6 original designs, plans, inventions, and patents in progress.

In addition to his responsibilities as the Editor-in-Chief of the  International Journal of Biomedical Science, Professor Dinman is also a member of the editorial board of Nucleic Acids Research, and undertakes review activities for the National Institutes of Health and the National Science Foundation. His major research interests include the regulation of gene expression, virology, and ribosome structure/function relationships, and he is the author of over 70 articles and book chapters.

Editorial Board

Stephen D. Barr, Department of Microbiology and Immunology, The University of Western Ontario, Ontario, Canada

Asim Dasgupta, Professor, Department of Microbiology and Immunology, David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA, Los Angeles, CA, USA

Arun K. Ghosh, Ian P. Rothwell Distinguished Professor, Department of Chemistry and Medicinal Chemistry, Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN, USA

Janak Koirala, Division of Infectious Diseases, School of Medicine, Southern Illinois University, Springfield, IL, USA

John J. Rossi, Lidow Family Research Chair, Professor, Department of Molecular Biology, Dean, Graduate School of Biological Sciences, Beckman Research Insitute of the City of Hope, Duarte, CA, USA

Xue-Long Sun, Department of Chemistry, Cleveland State University, Cleveland, OH, USA

Jaume Torres, School of Biological Sciences, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore

Brian Wigdahl, Professor and Chair, Department of Microbiology and Immunology, Drexel University College of Medicine, Philadelphia, PA, USA