Back to Journals

Open Access Emergency Medicine

ISSN: 1179-1500

Dr Hans-Christoph Pape

Dr Pape

Dr. Pape is Professor and Chairman of the Department of Trauma Surgery at University Hospital Zürich. Dr. Pape initially qualified at the Hannover Medical School in Germany, which included periods of study at Vanderbilt and Harvard as part of a scholarship. Later, he went on to participate in a combined research program between the Hannover Medical School and Harvard University's Department of Neurology, before completing his residency in trauma surgery at Hannover Medical School. During his time as an attending orthopedic and trauma surgeon at Hannover, he was appointed as a Professor of Trauma Surgery. From 2003 to 2005, he was a visiting professor at Harvard, the University of Alabama, and the University of Texas.

Dr. Pape has published more than 70 peer reviewed articles as the lead author, and has co-authored over 120 others. He is the recipient of multiple awards from international trauma societies, including the Best Scientific Paper Presentation from the European Trauma Society, and the Best European Paper Presentation from the British Trauma Society, both in 2002. Most recently, he was awarded the 2005 Novartis prize, the 2006 Swiss AO Foundation Annual Award, and the 2008 Kappa Delta Award from the American Academy of Orthopedic Surgeons.
He is a founding member of several research groups within the German Interdisciplinary ICU Society (DIVI), of which he has been a member since 1998, and has been a member of the North American Shock Society since 1998. In addition, he is also a member of the American Association for the Surgery of Trauma, the American Association of Orthopedic Surgeons and a Fellow of the American College of Surgeons.


Editorial Board

Amit Agrawal, Professor of Neurosurgery, Department of Neurosurgery, All India Institute of Medical Sciences, India.

Irshad Chaudry, Professor Emeritus,  Department of Surgery, University of Alabama at Birmingham School of Medicine, Birmingham, AL, USA

Gabriele Finco, Medical Department, University of Cagliari, Italy.

Jochen Hinkelbein, DESA, Department of Anesthesiology and Intensive Care Medicine, University Hospital Cologne, Cologne, Germany

Wendy L. Hurley, Department of Kinesiology, SUNY Cortland, Cortland, NY, USA

Carolyn Jenkins, Professor Emerita and Darlington Edwards Endowed Chair, College of Nursing, Medical University of South Carolina, Charleston, SC, USA

Bo Løfgren, MD, PhD, FESC, FAHA, Professor, Senior Consultant Cardiologist, Research Center for Emergency Medicine, Aarhus University Hospital, Aarhus, Denmark and Department of Medicine, Regional Hospital of Randers, Randers, Denmark

David S. Perlin, Ph.D., Executive Director and Professor, Public Health Research Institute, New Jersey Medical School, Rutgers Biomedical and Health Sciences, Newark, NJ, USA

Carl L. Tishler, Ph.D., ABPP, Adjunct Associate Professor of Psychology and Psychiatry, The Ohio State University, Columbus, OH, USA