Back to Journals

Nanotechnology, Science and Applications

Professor Rubinstein

Department of Medicine and Biopharmaceutical Sciences, University of Illinois at Chicago, United States

Professor Rubinstein

Editor-in-Chief: Dr Israel Rubinstein

Dr Israel Rubinstein is professor of medicine in the College of Medicine at the University of Illinois at Chicago. He is a member of the Section of Pulmonary, Critical Care, Allergy and Sleep Medicine at the Department of Medicine, University of Illinois at Chicago, and attending physician at the University of Illinois at Chicago Medical Center and Jesse Brown VA Medical Center, Chicago, Illinois, USA. Dr Rubinstein received his medical degree from the Hebrew University–Hadassah School of Medicine in Jerusalem. He was a medical resident in Israel, fellow in respirology at the University of Toronto and research fellow at the Cardiovascular Research Institute, University of California at San Francisco. He is board-certified in internal medicine and pulmonary disease. Dr Rubinstein holds 18 issued and pending US and international patents and has authored more than 190 peer-reviewed articles in scientific journals.

Dr Rubinstein’s research interests include nanomedicine, targeted drug delivery, and bioimaging. Dr Rubinstein is the Editor-in-Chief of the International Journal of Nanomedicine and associate editor of the Journal of Biomedical Nanotechnology and member of the editorial board of several scientific journals. He is a member of the Scientific Advisory Board of the International Academy of Cardiology. Dr Rubinstein is a fellow of the American Heart Association, American College of Physicians and American College of Chest Physicians. In addition, he is a member of the American Thoracic Society, American Physiological Society, American Society for Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics, American Microbiology Society and the Microcirculatory Society. He is a board member and director of Advanced Life Sciences, a publicly-traded biopharmaceutical company in Woodridge, Illinois, USA, engaged in the discovery, development and commercialization of drugs in the areas of infection, cancer and respiratory disease.   

Editorial Board

Ralph M Albrecht, Professor, Departments of Animal Sciences, Pharmaceutical Sciences and Pediatrics. Director: Biological and Biomaterials Preparation, Imaging and Characterization Laboratory, University of Wisconsin, Madison, WI, USA

Mansoor M. Amiji, University Distinguished Professor and Director of the Laboratory for Biomaterials and Advanced Nano-Delivery Systems (BANDS), Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences, School of Pharmacy at Northeastern University in Boston, Massachusetts, USA

Manfred Auer, Staff Scientist, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, Berkeley, CA, USA

B George Barisas, Professor of Chemistry, Colorado State University, Fort Collins, CO, USA

Hong-Wen Deng, Ph. D. Professor, Chief, Section of Biomedical Informatics and Genomics. Director, Tulane Center of Biomedical Informatics and Genomics Deming Department of Medicine, School of Medicine, Tulane University, New Orleans, USA. 

Gleb Finkelstein, Physics Department, Duke University, Durham, NC, USA

Mario Ganau, PhD in Nanotechnology and in Biomedical Engineering, is a Fellow of the American College of Surgeons and of the Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh. Following his fellowship training at the University of Toronto, he has been appointed Consultant Neurosurgeon and Spine Surgeon at Oxford University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust, Oxford, United Kingdom. He also serves as Deputy Training Program Director for Neurosurgery for the Oxford Deanery.

Craig J Hawker, Director, California Nanosystems Institute; Professor of Chemistry and Materials, University of California Santa Barbara, CA, USA

James J Hickman, Professor, Nanoscience Technology, Chemistry, Biomolecular Sciences and Electrical Engineering, University of Central Florida; Chief Scientist, Hesperos, Inc., Orlando, FL, USA

Kattesh V Katti, Distinguished Curators’ Professor of Radiology and Physics; Margaret Proctor Mulligan Distinguished Chair; Professor of Cancer Research; Director, Institute of Green Nanotechnology, University of Missouri Medical School, Columbia, MO, USA

Vinod Labhasetwar, Professor, Department of Biomedical Engineering, Lerner Research Institute, and Taussig Cancer Center, Program Leader, Cancer NanoMedicine, Cleveland Clinic, Cleveland, OH, USA

Yuri L. Lyubchenko, Professor, Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences, College of Pharmacy, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE, USA

Phillip B. Messersmith, Class of 1941 Professor, Departments of Bioengineering and Materials Science and Engineering, University of California, Berkeley, CA, USA

Dimitrios Niarchos, Emeritus Researcher, MagLab at NCSR Demokritos at the Institute of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology, Neapoleos and Patriarchou Grigoriou, Aghia Paraskevi, Attikis, Athens

Jieshan Qiu, Professor of Carbon Science and Chemical Engineering, College of Chemical Engineering, Beijing University of Chemical Technology, Beijing 100029, People's Republic of China

Tamar Schlick, Professor of Chemistry, Mathematics and Computer Science, Department of Chemistry, Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences, New York University, New York, NY, USA

Nisha Shukla, Research Professor, ICES/Center for Nano-enabled Device and Energy Technologies, Carnegie Mellon University, Pittsburgh, PA, USA

Erik B Svedberg, Senior Program Officer, National Materials and Manufacturing Board, National Academies, Washington, DC, USA

Vladimir P Torchilin, University Distinguished Professor of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Director, Center for Pharmaceutical Biotechnology and Nanomedicine, Northeastern University, Boston, MA, USA

Maxim Tsoi, Physics Department, The University of Texas at Austin, Austin, TX, USA

Gayle E Woloschak, Professor, Departments of Radiation Oncology, Radiology, and Cell and Molecular Biology, Robert H Lurie Cancer Center, Northwestern University, Chicago, IL, USA

Karen L. Wooley, W. T. Doherty-Welch Chair in Chemistry, University Distinguished Professor, Director, Laboratory for Synthetic-Biologic Interactions, Department of Chemistry, Texas A&M University, College Station , TX, USA

Qifa Zhou, Professor, NIH Transducer Resource Center, Department of Ophthalmology and Biomedical Engineering, University of Southern California, Los Angeles, CA, USA