Back to Journals

Local and Regional Anesthesia

Dr Wirz

Department for Anesthesiology, Intensive Medicine, Pain Medicine, Palliative Medicine, CURA-Hospital, Germany

Dr Wirz

Editor-in-Chief: Dr Stefan Wirz, PhD

PhD Dr Stefan Wirz began his work in anesthesiology as an assistant at the CURA Hospitals and University Hospital at Bonn, Germany. From there, his experience at the Pain Clinic and the University Hospital at Bonn and the Center of Palliative Medicine in the Malteser Hospital helped to shape his special interest in postoperative analgesia. His specialties include anesthesiology, intensive care medicine, pain therapy, palliative medicine, acupuncture, and neural therapy.

PhD Dr Wirz has organized numerous national and international lectures on pain therapy in the University of Bonn, and co-authored several German S3 Guidelines, e.g. for Postoperative Pain Therapy, Palliative Medicine, Supportive Therapy. He has also authored publications on the development of minimally invasive surgical procedures, cancer pain therapy, symptom control, and oro-facial pain.

PhD Dr Wirz is currently the Head of Department for Anesthesiology at the CURA Hospitals at Bad Honnef, in addition to his services as Associate Professor at the University of Bonn, Germany. Further, he is Chairman of the Cancer Pain Work Group for the German chapter of the International Association for the Study of Pain (IASP).


Editorial Board

Miroslav Zupcic, Clinical Hospital Center Rijeka, Department of Anesthesiology, Reanimation and Intensive Medicine, Rijeka (Croatia).

Kenneth Candido, Professor, University of Illinois College of Medicine, Chicago, IL, USA

Gabriele Finco, Medical Department, University of Cagliari, Italy.

Dario Galante, Responsible for Pediatric and Neonatal Anesthesia, University Department of Anesthesia and Intensive Care, University Hospital Ospedali Riuniti of Foggia, Italy

Chiu-Ming Ho, Department of Anesthesiology, Taipei Veterans General Hospital, Taiwan

Debasish Hota, Professor and Head, Dept. of Pharmacology, All India Institute of Medical Sciences, India

Nurten Inan, Anesthesiology and Algology Departments, Gazi University Medical School, Ankara, Turkey

Nico Jonas, Division of Otolaryngology, Cambridge University Hospital, Cambridge, UK

James R. Miner, University of Minnesota Medical School, MN, USA

Nitin Sethi, Weill Cornell Medical Centre, New York Presbyterian Hospital, New York, NY, USA

Prabhat Kumar Sinha, Anesthesiologist, Campbellton Regional Hospital, Campbellton, NB, Canada

Cheng Wang, Division of Neurotoxicology, National Center for Toxicological Research, U.S. Food and Drug Administration, AR, USA

James M. Wooten, Department of Medicine, University of Missouri-Kansas City School of Medicine, MO, USA

Guogang Xing, Department of Neurobiology, Neuroscience Research Institute, Peking University, China