Back to Journals

Eye and Brain

Professor Wong-Riley 1

Cell Biology, Neurobiology and Anatomy, Medical College of Wisconsin, United States

Professor Wong-Riley 1

Editor-in-Chief: Professor Wong-Riley

Dr Margaret Wong-Riley is a professor of cell biology, neurobiology and anatomy at the Medical College of Wisconsin, USA.

She trained as a neuroscientist and received her PhD from Stanford University, California, USA. She served on a number of NIH study sections, review panels, and site visit teams, including Visual Sciences B Study Section, Behavioral and Neuroscience Study Section, NEI Training Grant Review, NEI Special Emphasis Panel Study Section, NIH Research Infrastructure Study Section, NIH IDeA Network of Biomedical Research Excellence Special Emphasis Panel, and Respiratory Integrative Biology and Translational Research Study Section. She is the Editor of Neuroscience Secrets published by Hanley and Belfus (now Elsevier). She served on the Editorial Board of Visual Neuroscience (2001-7) and is on the Scientific Advisory Board of the International Foundation for Optic Nerve Disease (IFOND). She is a recipient of the "Roy and Sherrington Award" in 2006 given by the Gordon Research Conference on "Brain Energy Metabolism and Blood Flow" in UK.

Her research interests include molecular mechanisms of bigenomic regulation of cytochrome c oxidase in neurons; adult plasticity in the visual system; metabolic, neurochemical, and physiological bases of a critical period of respiratory development; therapeutic effect of near-infrared light on visual cortical neurons exposed to toxins, and tight coupling of energy metabolism and neuronal activity at the transcriptional level. Her research has been funded by NIH since 1976, and she has published over 138 peer-reviewed articles, including book chapters and invited reviews.

Editorial Board

Daniel S. Barth, Professor of Psychology, Department of Psychology and Neuroscience, University of Colorado at Boulder, Colorado, USA

Maxim Bazhenov, PhD, Professor, Department of Medicine, Division of Pulmonary, Critical Care & Sleep Medicine, University of California, San Diego, La Jolla, CA, USA

Valerio Carelli, MD, PhD, Professor in Neurology, Department of Biomedical and Neuromotor Sciences (DIBINEM), University of Bologna, Bologna, Italy

Yuzo Chino, Benedict-McFadden Professor, College of Optometry, University of Houston, Houston, Texas, USA

Jerold Chun, Professor and Senior Vice President, Neuroscience Drug Discovery, Sanford Burnham Prebys Medical Discovery Institute, La Jolla, CA, USA

Dipankar Das, Department of Ocular Pathology and Uveitis Services, Sri Sankaradeva Nethralaya, Guwahaiti, Assam, India

C. Edward Dixon, Professor of Neurological Surgery, Vice Chair of Research, Department of Neurological Surgery, Professor of Neurological Surgery, Neurobiology, and Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation, University of Pittsburgh; Health Research Scientist,VA Pittsburgh Healthcare System, Children’s Hospital of Pittsburgh of UPMC, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Steven J. Fliesler, SUNY Distinguished Professor and Vice-Chair, Department of Ophthalmology, and Department of Biochemistry, SUNY-University at Buffalo, Jacobs School of Medicine & Biomedical Sciences; and Research Career Scientist, VA Western New York Healthcare System, Buffalo, USA

Michael J. Friedlander, PhD, Vice President for Health Sciences and Technology, Virginia Tech; Executive Director, Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute; Senior Dean for Research, Virginia Tech Carilion School of Medicine, Virginia, USA

Francisco Gonzalez-Lima, George I. Sanchez Centennial Professor, Institute for Neuroscience, Imaging Research Center, and Behavioral Neuroscience Area, The University of Texas at Austin, Texas, USA

Neeru Gupta, Professor and Dorothy Pitts Chair of Ophthalmology and Vision Sciences, Laboratory Medicine and Pathobiology, Keenan Centre for Biomedical Research, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute, St. Michael's Hospital, Chief of Glaucoma, University of Toronto, Toronto, Ontario, Canada.

Mary Elizabeth Hartnett, Distinguished Professor in Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences, University of Utah, Calvin S. and JeNeal N. Hatch Presidential Endowed Chair in Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences, Director of Pediatric Retina, Vitreoretinal Medical and Surgical Service, Adjunct Professor of Pediatrics, Adjunct Professor of Neurobiology and Anatomy, Principal Investigator Retinal Angiogenesis Laboratory, John A. Moran Eye Center, University of Utah, Salt Lake City, UT, USA.

Takeshi Iwata, Director, Molecular and Cellular Biology Division, National Institute of Sensory Organs, Tokyo Medical Center, National Hospital Organization, Tokyo, Japan

William R. Jeffery, Professor, Biology, and Affiliate Professor, Cell Biology and Molecular Genetics, University of Maryland, College Park, Maryland, USA

Jon H. Kaas, Distinguished, Centennial Professor, Department of Psychology, Vanderbilt University, Nashville, TN, USA

Boris E. Malyugin, Professor of Ophthalmology, Department of Cataract and Implant Surgery, Chief Deputy Director General, S.Fyodorov Eye Microsurgery State Institution, Moscow, Russia

Dario Marchetti, Director, Biomarker Research Program, Houston Methodist Research Institute; Professor, Institute of Academic Medicine; Visiting Professor, Department of Molecular and Cellular Biology, Baylor College of Medicine; Member, Houston Methodist Cancer Center, Houston, TX, USA

Alfredo A. Sadun, MD, PhD, Flora Thornton Chair, Doheny Eye Institute, Professor and Vice-Chair of Ophthalmology, UCLA, Los Angeles, California, USA

Jerome Sherman, Distinguished Teaching Professor in Dept. of Clinical Sciences, State University of New York, USA

Barry E. Stein, Ph.D., Professor and Chair, Department of Neurobiology and Anatomy, Wake Forest University School of Medicine Medical Center Boulevard Winston-Salem, NC, USA

Yeni H. Yücel, Professor and Director, Eye Pathology, Departments of Ophthalmology & Vision Sciences, and Laboratory Medicine & Pathobiology, University of Toronto, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science in Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute of St. Michael's Hospital, Toronto, ON, Canada

Dr M S Zobaer, PhD, Department of Neurology, McGovern Medical School, The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston (UTHealth), Houston, USA.