Back to Journals » International Journal of Nanomedicine » Volume 10 » Issue 1

In vitro controlled release of cisplatin from gold-carbon nanobottles via cleavable linkages

Authors Li J, Yoong SL, Goh WJ, Czarny B, Yang Z, Poddar K, Dykas MM, Patra A, Venkatesan T, Panczyk T, Lee C, Pastorin G

Received 5 August 2015

Accepted for publication 12 October 2015

Published 15 December 2015 Volume 2015:10(1) Pages 7425—7441

DOI https://doi.org/10.2147/IJN.S93810

Checked for plagiarism Yes

Review by Single-blind

Peer reviewers approved by Dr Govarthanan Muthusamy

Peer reviewer comments 3

Editor who approved publication: Dr Thomas J Webster

Jian Li,1 Sia Lee Yoong,2 Wei Jiang Goh,2 Bertrand Czarny,1 Zhi Yang,1 Kingshuk Poddar,2,3 Michal M Dykas,2,3 Abhijeet Patra,2,3 T Venkatesan,2,3 Tomasz Panczyk,4 Chengkuo Lee,5 Giorgia Pastorin1–3

1Department of Pharmacy, National University of Singapore, 2NUS Graduate School for Integrative Sciences and Engineering, Centre for Life Sciences (CeLS), 3NUSNNI-NanoCore, National University of Singapore, Singapore; 4Institute of Catalysis and Surface Chemistry, Polish Academy of Sciences, Cracow, Poland; 5Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, National University of Singapore, Singapore

Abstract: Carbon nanotubes’ (CNTs) hollow interior space has been explored for biomedical applications, such as drug repository against undesirable inactivation. To further devise CNTs as smart material for controlled release of cargo molecules, we propose the concept of “gold-carbon nanobottles”. After encapsulating cis-diammineplatinum(II) dichloride (cisplatin, CDDP) in CNTs, we covalently attached gold nanoparticles (AuNPs) at the open-tips of CNTs via different cleavable linkages, namely hydrazine, ester, and disulfide-containing linkages. Compared with our previous study in which more than 80% of CDDP leaked from CNTs in 2 hours, AuNPs were found to significantly decrease such spontaneous release to <40%. In addition, CDDP release from AuNP-capped CNTs via disulfide linkage was selectively enhanced by twofolds in reducing conditions (namely with 1 mM dithiothreitol [DTT]), which mimic the intracellular environment. We treated human colon adenocarcinoma cells HCT116 with our CDDP-loaded gold-carbon nanobottles and examined the cell viability using lactate dehydrogenase assay. Interestingly, we found that our nanobottles with cleavable disulfide linkage exerted stronger cytotoxic effect in HCT116 compared with normal human fetal lung fibroblast cells IMR-90. Therefore, we infer that our nanobottles strategy with inbuilt disulfide linkage could attain selective release of payload in highly reductive tumor tissues while avoiding collateral damage to normal tissues.

Keywords: carbon nanotubes, surface functionalization, cleavable bonds, cisplatin, drug delivery

Creative Commons License This work is published and licensed by Dove Medical Press Limited. The full terms of this license are available at https://www.dovepress.com/terms.php and incorporate the Creative Commons Attribution - Non Commercial (unported, v3.0) License. By accessing the work you hereby accept the Terms. Non-commercial uses of the work are permitted without any further permission from Dove Medical Press Limited, provided the work is properly attributed. For permission for commercial use of this work, please see paragraphs 4.2 and 5 of our Terms.

Download Article [PDF]  View Full Text [HTML][Machine readable]

 

Other article by this author:

Doxorubicin-loaded cell-derived nanovesicles: an alternative targeted approach for anti-tumor therapy

Goh WJ, Lee CK, Zou S, Woon EC, Czarny B, Pastorin G

International Journal of Nanomedicine 2017, 12:2759-2767

Published Date: 4 April 2017

Readers of this article also read:

Novel platinum–palladium bimetallic nanoparticles synthesized by Dioscorea bulbifera: anticancer and antioxidant activities

Ghosh S, Nitnavare R, Dewle A, Tomar GB, Chippalkatti R, More P, Kitture R, Kale S, Bellare J, Chopade BA

International Journal of Nanomedicine 2015, 10:7477-7490

Published Date: 17 December 2015

Therapeutic and scintigraphic applications of polymeric micelles: combination of chemotherapy and radiotherapy in hepatocellular carcinoma

Shih YH, Peng CL, Chiang PF, Lin WJ, Luo TY, Shieh MJ

International Journal of Nanomedicine 2015, 10:7443-7454

Published Date: 16 December 2015

Role of NSC319726 in ovarian cancer based on the bioinformatics analyses

Xue J, Yang G, Ding H, Wang P, Wang CH

OncoTargets and Therapy 2015, 8:3757-3765

Published Date: 15 December 2015

pH-responsive glycol chitosan-cross-linked carboxymethyl-β-cyclodextrin nanoparticles for controlled release of anticancer drugs

Wang Y, Qin F, Tan H, Zhang Y, Jiang M, Lu M, Yao X

International Journal of Nanomedicine 2015, 10:7359-7370

Published Date: 8 December 2015

Inhibition of heat-shock protein 90 sensitizes liver cancer stem-like cells to magnetic hyperthermia and enhances anti-tumor effect on hepatocellular carcinoma-burdened nude mice

Yang R, Tang QS, Miao FQ, An YL, Li MF, Han Y, Wang XH, Wang J, Liu PD, Chen R

International Journal of Nanomedicine 2015, 10:7345-7358

Published Date: 7 December 2015

Intracellular targeted co-delivery of shMDR1 and gefitinib with chitosan nanoparticles for overcoming multidrug resistance

Yu XW, Yang G, Shi YJ, Su C, Liu M, Feng B, Zhao L

International Journal of Nanomedicine 2015, 10:7045-7056

Published Date: 12 November 2015

Investigation of the biological and anti-cancer properties of ellagic acid-encapsulated nano-sized metalla-cages

Dubey A, Park DW, Kwon JE, Jeong YJ, Kim T, Kim I, Kang SC, Chi KW

International Journal of Nanomedicine 2015, 10:227-240

Published Date: 2 September 2015