Back to Editor profile » Prof. Dr. Andreas Imhoff

Prof. Dr. Andreas Imhoff

Prof. Dr. Andreas Imhoff

Department of Orthopedic Sports Medicine, Technical University of Munich, Munich, Germany

Professor Andreas B. Imhoff graduated from Basel University in 1980. He started his residency in General Surgery and Traumatology in Davos, and in General surgery, Traumatology and Knee surgery on the University Hospital Bruderholz-Basel under the guidance of Professor Werner Müller in 1982. He completed his Orthopedic Residency at the Balgrist University Hospital, University of Zurich (Proff. Adam Schreiber, Hans Zollinger, Christian Gerber) between 1983 and 1996, after 1987 as a head of different departments for knee, shoulder and sports medicine.

Professor Imhoff was elected as a Professor of Orthopedic Surgery and Arthroscopy at the faculty Medical school and faculty School of Sport Science and Health, Technical University Munich to serve as director and chairman of the Department of Orthopedic Sports Medicine from 1st April 1996 – 1st April 2022. He is an active member of the AGA (German Society of Arthroscopy and Joint Surgery) which now has 5000 members. He was a founder of the society in 1983, congress chairman 1999, president 2000-2003, general secretary and now still member of the executive board. He also was again congress chairman 2017.

He serves as an editor of journals like Arthroscopy, Operative Orthopaedics and Traumatology (OOT), Journal of Shoulder and Elbow Surgery (JSES), Knee Surgery, Sports Traumatology, Arthroscopy (KSSTA), American Journal of Sports Medicine (AJSM) and Open Access Journal of Sports Medicine (OAJSM) as an Editor-In-Chief. Between 1979 and March 2022, he has edited 39 books and published over 544 journal articles, cited in PubMed (Research Gate: 902 publications, RG Score 49.30, h-index 60). 

Professor Imhoff was on the board of directors of the DGOOC (German Society of Orthopaedics), and the DGOU (German Society of Orthopaedics and Traumatology). He is also a member of several societies including ISAKOS (International Society of Arthroscopy, Knee Surgery and Orthopedic Sports Medicine) started as founding member of IAA/ISK in October 1994, now member of the board and different committees since 1996. He was chairman and past chairman of the ISAKOS shoulder committee 2015-2021, ESSKA (European Society of Sports Traumatology, Knee Surgery and Arthroscopy), SESEC (European Society for Surgery of the Shoulder and the Elbow), AOSSM (American Orthopedic Society for Sports Medicine), and DVSE (German Society for Shoulder and Elbow). As well as a member of the board of AFOR (Association of Orthopedic Research) since 2010, and a member of the board of DKG (German Knee Society) since 2012.

Professor Imhoff has received a number of awards from all over the world and in different countries. He is a honorary member of the Arthroscopy Association of North America AANA 2004, Miembro Honorario Sociedad Argentina de Cirurgia de Hombro y Codo 2006, Malaysian Federal Honorary Award 2010 (“DATUK” (Honorary-Award given by His Majesty Tuanku Mizan, up to 200 living at any one time), Honorary member of German Society of Arthroscopy and Joint Surgery (AGA) 2013, Honorary member of Indian Arthroscopic Society IAS 2014, and in Naples on 20th January 2019 he received the OTIF Award 2019 of Orthopaedic Legends (Stephen Snyder, John Garrett, David Altchek, Andreas Imhoff). He is also a honorary member and received the MEM Lecture lifetime award in Orthopaedics by SGO (Swiss Society for Orthopaedics) on 24th June 2021. Along with the "Goldene Ehrennadel" award for a lifetime in Orthopaedics and Sportsorthopaedics from the DGOOC (German Society of Orthopaedics) on 25th October 2021. 

Updated 28 November 2023