Back to Journals

Drug, Healthcare and Patient Safety

Professor Aparasu

Department of Pharmaceutical Health Outcomes and Policy, University of Houston, United States, United States

Professor Aparasu

Editor-in-Chief: Professor Rajender Aparasu

Dr. Aparasu is Professor and Chair at University Of Houston - College Of Pharmacy. He is a nationally renowned scholar and educational leader with over 20 years of experience in the areas of pharmaceutical outcomes research and policy. He started his academic career at South Dakota State University – College of Pharmacy in 1995 after obtaining his PhD from the University of Louisiana – Monroe.  He joined the University of Houston - College of Pharmacy in 2006. He has trained over have 20 graduate students and post-doctoral fellows. The goal of his research team is to provide real word evidence for practice and policy using available data sources based on novel methodological and analytical approaches for causal inference in observational research. His research focused on quality of pharmacotherapy issues in the elderly. His current federally funded research is evaluating safety profiles of anticholinergic medications in the elderly nursing home residents.

Dr. Aparasu served on various national patient safety and medication therapy management task forces, and received numerous Federal and non-Federal grants to address geriatric quality of pharmaceutical care. He has edited two books, Research Methods for Pharmaceutical Practice and Policy and Principles of Research Design and Drug Literature Evaluation. He is a peer reviewer for numerous pharmacy and medical journals with over 100 peer-reviewed publications. He serves on numerous editorial boards of pharmacy and medical journals. He has been recognized as an Exceptional Peer Reviewer by prestigious journals.  He also serves as a grant reviewer for the American Heart Association (AHA), Patient-Centered Outcomes Research Institute (PCORI), and National Institutes of Health (NIH). He was recognized by his peers with 2012 Fellow of the American Pharmacists Association (FAPhA) for his exemplary professional achievements and outstanding service and contribution to the pharmacy profession.

Professor Chua

School of Pharmacy, Taylor's University, Malaysia

Professor Chua

Editorial Board

Dr. Aagaard, Life Sciences Group, IP & Technology, Bech-Bruun Law Firm, Denmark.

Chul Ahn, Professor and Director of Biostatistics and Research Design, Department of Clinical Sciences, Simmons Comprehensive Cancer Center, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center, Dallas, TX, USA

Charles L Bennett, Frank P and Josie M Fletcher Chair and Smart State Center Director, South Carolina College of Pharmacy and the Hollings Cancer Center, University of South Carolina and the Medical University of South Carolina, Columbia, SC, USA

Peter R. Martin, M.D., Professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, Professor of Pharmacology, Vanderbilt Psychiatric Hospital, Vanderbilt University School of Medicine, Nashville, TN, USA

Mboup Souleymane, Professor, Laboratoire de Bacteriologie Virologie, Universite Cheikh Anta DIOP, Dakar, Senegal

Karen Dineen Wagner, M.D., Ph.D., Professor and Chair, Department of Psychiatry & Behavioral Sciences, The University of Texas Medical Branch, Galveston, Texas, USA

John A. Zaia, M.D., Director, Center for Gene Therapy, Aaron D. and Edith Miller Chair for Gene Therapy; Hematologic Malignancies and Stem Cell Transplantation Institute Department of Hematology, City of Hope, Duarte, CA, USA