skip to content
Dovepress - Open Access to Scientific and Medical Research
View our mobile site


Dr Wang

Editor-in-Chief: Dr Shixia Wang

Shixia Wang, DVM, PhD, is Associate Professor of Medicine at the University of Massachusetts Medical School in Worcester, MA, USA. She received her Doctoral degree in Veterinary Medicine from Hebei Agricultural University and PhD in Microbiology and Immunology from the Chinese Academy of Preventive Medicine, followed by postdoctoral training in viral immunology and DNA vaccine research at the University of Massachusetts Medical School from 1996 to 2000. 

Since 2000, Dr Wang has been a faculty member involved in the research of novel DNA/subunit-based vaccines against HIV, biodefense targets, and emerging infectious diseases including plague, influenza, SARS, and smallpox at the Laboratory of Nucleic Acid Vaccines, Department of Medicine at the University of Massachusetts Medical School.  Recently, her research has focused on the investigation of antibody responses induced by vaccination against various infectious diseases in hosts from small animals to humans, and on the development and characterization of monoclonal antibodies using novel technologies. 

Dr Wang is an author of more than 100 publications including peer-reviewed journal articles and book chapters related to her research on vaccine design/development and vaccine-induced immune responses against various pathogens.  She has been an invited lecturer at medical and scientific meetings in both the United States and China.  She has served as reviewer for medical journals and as a member of Editorial Board for the Advances in Preventive Medicine, and is a member of several medical societies.  Dr Wang has been the Principle Investigator (PI) and co-PI on several research grants supported by NIH/NIAID.

Dr Wang is also an Adjunct Associate Professor at the Cummings School of Veterinary Medicine at Tufts University (Grafton, MA) and an Adjunct Professor at the China-US Vaccine Research Center, Nanjing Medical University (Nanjing, People's Republic of China).